RSS

Festival Youth Orchestra (FYO) Part I: Orchestra

31 Aug

This summer from 7/11 to 7/29, I was involved in Festival Youth Orchestra (FYO) at New England Conservatory.  We rehearsed with the full orchestra for five hours a day and rehearsed in sectionals for one hour a day.  Aaron Kula, our conductor, was AMAZING!!  He was so much fun. In orchestra we played Brahms’ 2nd symphony, An American in Paris by George Gershwin and Bernstein’s Candide Overture.  They were so much fun. Our trombone instructor, Alexi Doohovskoy, was awesome and I had tons of fun in trombone sectionals with him and the other trombones.  It was my first experience playing in an orchestra so it was awesome for me.  Each of our pieces was completely different so I developed many new skills while playing there.  My favorite piece was An American in Paris.  It was nice and jazzy and everyone got a feature.  I had a blast there and I met quite a few new friends there.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

